Some people feel that manufacturers and supermarkets have the responsibility to reduce the amount of packaging of goods. Others argue that customers should avoid buying goods with a lot of packaging. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

A problem of modern societies is plastic pollution from excessive packaging, with conflicting views on how to tackle this worrying trend. One possible solution is to encourage manufacturers to cut down good packaging in industrial sectors.

Advocates of this believe that manufacturers and supermarkets are where all of the plastics on earth are originally produced. Therefore, assuming businesses were legally forced to limit goods packaging by plastic, less plastic waste would be disposed into the environment and find its way into the marine system as well as human stomach. The responsibilities to society being fulfilled by companies may also improve the image and reputation of that company on the market, which likely lead to increased sales as well as profits.

However, this approach disregards the incurred cost which is not interesting to corporations. Replacing plastic with environmentally friendly materials such as glass, paper or organic polymer, companies must invest in expensive technologies together with design alterations. Water bottle made of glass, for instance, cost more to produce and require specialized machineries to inscribe brand marketing on the bottle as compared to traditional plastic ones.

From a personal perspective, a better solution would be educating the customers to lower plastic good consumption. Not only will the effect be successful on a large scale, raising consumers’ awareness is more plausible and feasible. Education about the harmful consequences will either persuade people to avoid plastic packaging, or motivate them to find innovative ways to reuse their plastic products. For example, seasoning containers or planting pots can be created from used plastic jars.

To conclude, relying on manufacturer to reduce packaging is too financially impractical and would not have the desired results. It is better to inform everyone of the dangers from discarding plastic, along with the proper ways to discard those plastics.