Some people feel that paparazzi should not follow celebrities and invade their privacy by taking pictures of them everywhere, while others believe this is just the price of fame. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

These days, it is common for journalists and photographers to follow celebrities around to capture their private moments. Most of the time, these people are trying to shoot famous people in embarrassing or compromising situations. These photos are then sold to media houses for a huge sum and within seconds they get plastered all over the media both online and offline. In my opinion, this practice cannot be permitted. Celebrities have a private life just like everyone else and it is important for the media and the general public to respect it.

Just because someone is famous, it does not mean that they should live every moment of their life in full public glare. Celebrities have their own private life. They have moments where they want to shut the world out. If photographers follow them round the clock, it can hurt their emotional health. It is tiring to try to behave perfectly all the time. Nobody can accomplish that feat. Celebrities are no exceptions. They have their moments of weakness and those are not to be celebrated on the internet or television channels at their expense.

Of course, there are people who believe that the invasion of privacy is the price of stardom. I do not quite agree with this view. It is true that common folks have a lot of interest in the private lives of famous people. Very often, this need stems from their feelings of insecurity and inadequacy. For example, the general public has so much interest in learning about the unflattering side of celebrities. Knowing that famous people also have shortcomings makes them feel good about themselves. However, media persons are not supposed to stalk the rich and famous with the sole objective of digging out juicy personal details. Such details might entertain their readers or viewers, but they do a great deal of damage to the person of their attention. Princess Diana, for example, was killed in a car crash while trying to flee paparazzi. She was with her boyfriend and probably did not want cameramen to capture them together. Unfortunately, the relentless paparazzi chased them leading to the crash that killed the eminent woman whom the world admired. One can never justify such incidents with the lame excuse that it is the price of stardom.

In conclusion, like everyone else, celebrities are also entitled to their privacy and any violation of it must not be permitted.