Some people hesitate between getting a job and starting their own business. While the idea of not having a boss and working on one's own schedule may sound tempting, financial risks and stress sometimes outweigh these advantages.

In your opinion what are the pros and cons of working in a company?

In the modern era, various people tend to be their own boss more than being employed. While starting own business may bring some benefits, some people believe it is risky due to financial problems and stress. In the following essay, my viewpoint about the merits and demerits of working in a company.

There are tremendous advantages of being a worker. First of all, being employed provides financial stability and job security. To enumerate, people working as employees earn a stable income and therfore reduce the risk of financial burdens or going bankrupt. Another value of this is that getting a job can enhance the chance of achieving work-life balance. In particular, work time in company is fixed, which means that employee can stabilize their time spent on work and family. On the contrary, entrepreneurs’ time is often unstable, leading to the unbalance between work and family, not to mention time scarcity’s impact on health.

Despite those aforementioned benefits, being employed may have some drawbacks. The main disadvantage of having a job is that employees cannot achieve independence. For instance, controlling their work and making their own decisions are restricted; hence, they will sometimes get stress or dissatisfaction of their work. Secondly, working in a company may not further one’s knowledge and potential ability. It is undeniable that some companies’ size is too small for worker to develop, therefore workers cannot have many choices for career progression.

To summarize, although being a worker does have both merits and demerits, I believe that the benefits outweigh the drawbacks. In contrast with being self-employed, working as an employee is safer and more stable.