Some people propose that smoking should be banned completely. What is your opinions?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Write at least 250 words.

Some people think that we should forbid smoking totally. Although smoking indeed is harmful to our health and environment, I still think we should not ban it completely because of the following reasons.

Firstly, it is clear that everyone has his own hobbies and others should respect them. Smoking to somebody is a great joy which the anti-smokers can hardly understand. I have chance to talk with several colleagues who are regular smokers. They all admitted that smoking did help them to release a great deal of stress and in some cases, it inspired them with some innovative ideas in work. Recently, the rules applied to restrict the smoking areas have become more and more strict. Smokers are not be able to smoke everywhere especially in public areas without the risk of getting penalty. Therefore, smoking will not effect the surrounding people as it used to be.

Secondly,by this way or other way, we have to admit that tobacco industry also plays an important role in the economy. It contributes in the GDP growth, especially for the developing countries whose agriculture still occupy a big part of the economy. The manufacturers of cigarettes contribute a large amount of tax to government as well. In addition, in order to produce cigarettes, the industry will need a great number of laborers for planting the cigarette trees, working in the processing factories..etc. In term of social view, it will help to create more job opportunities for the population.

Finally, despite some negative effects of smoking, I still support to maintain smoking but suggest that government should monitor the smoker community closely and strictly. Thus, smoking will not effect the people around who say no to smoking.