Some people regard video games as harmless fun, or even as a
useful educational tool. Others, however, believe that videos games
are having an adverse effect on the people who play them. In your
opinion, do the drawbacks of video games outweigh the benefits?
Many people, and children in particular, enjoy playing computer games.
While I accept that these games can sometimes have a positive effect on
the user, I believe that they are more likely to have a harmful impact.
On the one hand, video games can be both entertaining and educational.
Users, or gamers, are transported into virtual worlds which are often more
exciting and engaging than real-life pastimes. From an educational
perspective, these games encourage imagination and creativity, as well
as concentration, logical thinking and problem solving, all of which are
useful skills outside the gaming context. Furthermore, it has been shown
that computer simulation games can improve users’ motor skills and help
to prepare them for real-world tasks, such as flying a plane.
However, I would argue that these benefits are outweighed by the
drawbacks. Gaming can be highly addictive because users are
constantly given scores, new targets and frequent rewards to keep them
playing. Many children now spend hours each day trying to progress
through the levels of a game or to get a higher score than their friends.
This type of addiction can have effects ranging from lack of sleep to
problems at school, when homework is sacrificed for a few more hours
on the computer or console. The rise in obesity in recent years has also
been linked in part to the sedentary lifestyle and lack of exercise that
often accompany gaming addiction.
In conclusion, it seems to me that the potential dangers of video games
are more significant than the possible benefits.