Some people said that giving aid to poorer countries has more negative effects than positive effects to what extend do you agree or disagree

Today, the world is becoming more and more closely linked. Trade has increased and the movement of people between countries is greater than ever before. However, billions of people still live in poverty and in many places, the gap between rich and poor is widening. This essay will look at the arguments in favour of and against helping poor countries.

There are many reasons to help poor nations. First of all, there are humanitarian reasons and individuals who give charity fall under this reason. Many countries believe that it is their religious, social or moral duty to help people who is suffering from famine, drought, war or disease. Apart from this, some rich countries donate money due to political or diplomatic reasons. They maintain the relation of dependency with recipient or simply influence government or directions of that country. Moreover, many nations help poor ones for economic reasons. They try to control the supply of comodities such as oil, water or wheat. Alternatively, richer countries want to ensure markets for their own products, whether these are planes, computers or shoes.

On the other hand, aid is not necessarily the best way to help poor nations. The main reason is that billions of dollers of aid goes missing, in corrupt government or inefficient administration. In addition to this, various foreign aid projects are unsuitable for the target country. Many agencies build huge dams or set up industrial projects which fail after few years or do not involve local people. Furthermore, much aid returns to donors. This can be in the form of expensive specialised equipments or experts from the donor country.

There are many other ways to help poor countries. Opening up the trade barriers, so that poor nations can sell their products or goods, is one way. Another one is to remove subsidies. This will allow them to compete fairly in foreign markets. Forgive debts is the third one as many countries have huge interest repayments on old loans.

To conclude, the need of poor countries may seem obvious. However, although our humanity makes us want to help these nations to eliminate poverty and sufferings, we must examine actual needs of people in such nations and implement appropriate solutions that will help both donor and recipient nations.