Some people say that artists such as painters, writers and musicians affect our life more than scientists. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include relevant examples from your experience.

The importance of science to the development of human race has been emphasised throughout history, however, arts may appeal to a broader audience, giving rise to the opinion that artists have a more profound effect on our life.

The way scientific discoveries improve our lives is easier to quantify than art, and for that reason it may appear that the impact of science on everyday aspects of our living is greater than that of arts. From miracles of technology powering our smart phones to newest cures for deadly diseases, science is the main driver responsible for these benefits of living in the 21st century, producing tangible and measurable outcomes.

However, science mainly deals with data and the latter often causes confusion and a sense of overwhelm in people who are not analytically inclined. art, on the other hand, touches people on a completely different level, it connects to their feelings and senses. different forms of art, such as music, paintings or books, move us in varying ways; they all have the power to transform a person, change their mood, elicit a sense of happiness and improve well-being in an instant.

Not only feelings, but also human health is in the sphere of influence of arts. music can be helpful to ease anxiety and improve mental health, aid pain relief or assist physical recovery. For instance, dementia patients benefit from singing in choirs and even the effects of neurological damage can be reduced by listening to a rhythmical tune.

arts are also thought to contribute to important skills such as concentration and academic achievements. Inspired by a work of art some may wish to create one of their own, and while in the process they may develop the ability to focus on a task for a long period of time and also improve their personal confidence.

In conclusion, I feel that while science is present in many areas of our life and its achievements are more obvious, the influence of arts is greater and it affects people on a considerably deeper level.