Some people say that the best way to improve road safety would be to increase the minimum legal age for driving cars or riding motorbikes. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is argued that raising the minimum legal age for driving cars or riding motorbikes is the most effective method of increasing road safety. While I consent to this approach, I am more convinced that it is far from the best solution.

To begin with, there is a certain ground to increase the minimum legal driving age in an attempt to enhance road safety. Numerous traffic incidents are the results of young people’s reckless driving behaviour. Their actions are often the product of peer pressure or under the influence of alcohol. Raising the driving age, therefore, can prevent these careless drivers from controlling the wheels and posing threats to others, contributing to the improvement of traffic safety. However, the aforementioned policy is not necessarily the optimal solution.

The government should inflict more severe punishments on traffic violators such as longer prison sentences or higher fines which could act as a deterrent to potential offenders. In other words, if drivers can foresee the severe consequences of their actions, they will be more likely to drive responsibly regardless of their legal driving age. Furthermore, citizens need to undergo more thorough training and extensive tests to ensure a person is physically and mentally fit to operate a vehicle. Age factor, as a result, should only be considered as one among many determinants.

In conclusion, although increasing the legal age for driving can help improve the safety of roads to a certain extent, I believe that its effectiveness pales in comparison with that of some other measures. As members of society, individuals are obliged to drive carefully to protect themselves and other people’s lives.