Some people say that the best way to reduce crime is by using prison sentences.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In modern society, the constantly increasing number of crimes has a negative effect on people’s lives. While individuals believe that putting offenders in jail is the most effective method to let down crimes, I maintain the opinion that other measures will be more effective.

On the one hand, there are benefits of using prison sentences. The first advantage works as a deterrent to future criminals. One of the greatest human fears is loss of freedom and captivity. Thus, longer prison sentences will be an enormous threat preventing someone from thinking of committing a crime. Another merit is that sending criminals to prison is also a good way to improve the safety of the local community. Because there are crimes committing serious offence such as assault, killing, robbing which are harmful to society. Therefore, will need a long time in prison in order to be sure they can be re-educated not to re-offend.

Despite the above mentioned ideas, I believe that prison is not the best choice to keep crimes. The reason is that it is a waste of money and the budget of the government for their living in jail. Hence, One alternative is using rehabilitation centers to detain them, then Criminals must do community service to give something positive back to society and feed themselves on their own. Furthermore, this helps the government focus its resources on the causes of crime or activities which bring benefits for society., which would lead to less crime in the future.

In conclusion, while many claim that sending crimes to jail is the best way to reduce future criminals and to ensure the peace of society, it seems to me that the government should use any methods like using rehabilitation centers which help the budget concentrate on finding the causes of crime to less crime in the future.