Some people say that the government should decide what subjects a student can study, while others believe the students should decide what they want to study. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

While a number of people are in favour of students' free choice of subjects, many others suggest the government should regulate their curriculum. This essay will examine the two aforementioned ideas and argue that it is students who should decide what to study at educational institutes.

On the one hand, it is thought that students should be given the freedom to apply for subjects they prefer at school or university. In the first place, when allowed to opt for their favorite subjects, students are more likely to become committed to their studying and devote more time to training themselves. With this application, they would stand a higher chance of becoming successful in their selected fields. In the second place, having to contemplate what to study may encourage students to have a clear vision of their future career. Consequently, after graduation, they would face less disorientation and can stand at an advantage over those who still struggle with career orientation. Their job opportunities, thus, could be much more abundant.

On the other hand, there are several reasons why I support the government's intervention in students' curriculum. Firstly, by having a decisive influence on what students can study, the government can make sure that its educational system fulfils the purpose of providing the job market with a high quality labour force, which potentially helps mitigate the shortage of personnel among multiple economic sectors. For example, the economy in Vietnam was once faced with a serious lack of work force specializing in international business when the country started to join various trade organizations; however, thanks to multiple efforts by the government to adjust the curricula in all economic colleges and universities, in the following few years, the demand for graduates majoring in international business was satisfied, considerably contributing to flourishing the economy. Secondly, because the government has a profound understanding of its economic situation, it should be given the right to decide on students' subjects at university in order to ensure that they can land a job after graduation, by which the unemployment rate among fresh graduates can be radically addressed. Without governmental regulations in university curriculum, thousands of students who previously chose their majors or subjects only on personal preference would not be out of work when their chosen field is too much overloaded with applicants.

In conclusion, although students' free choice of subjects is beneficial to some extent, I believe that it is necessary that students' curriculum should be under the state's control for the sake of society as a whole.