Some people say that the internet has caused people to be isolated from their real lives. Do you agree or disagree? (7/6/14)

In recent years, a number of people believe that the internet has completely separated human from their real lives. In my opinion, I agree with this idea, but I also have some disagreements.

Firstly, I disagree with the given idea. It’s undeniable that the internet has offered a tremendous help to keep people from long distance staying connected on a daily basis. Back in the ancient time, we have to use birds to have correspondence with others, then different transportation like cars, trains and ships in the modern time, but it took days to months to receive a letter. Since the internet was invented, everything changed. We’re now not only getting emails in just a second but also being able to see a bunch of pictures from our distant loved ones on Facebook. The internet is quite amazing, isn’t it? In fact, there is more. We have been provided with the most powerful tool to reach out for guidance and support so that we can make better improvement in our real lives. With the internet, we can access to unlimited storage of useful information and a wide range of valuable learning materials in almost every aspect of life. For instance, if you want to acquire a new skill like fixing a table or learn how to cook, you can go online and learn it. In short, the internet serves very practical and familiar matters in life.

However, I agree that the internet can also cause people to be isolated from their real lives. Spending too much time surfing the internet may lead to disconnection with the community, including friends, families and co – workers. Yesterday, I caught a man walking down the street keeping his eyes glued to his phone screen while his wife was walking right next to him. They could have talked to each other but they did not. The more time we are “online”, the less quality time we get to spend with our spouses. The fact is people are choosing to hold their phones instead of holding somebody’s hands and that is such a sad thing. Meanwhile, lots of younger generations focus on unimportant matters on the internet such as the number of “likes” they get on Instagram or the newest fashion trend of this fall and so on. If a girl doesn’t get a lot of online “likes” from her pictures, she might think that no one likes her and she is not worthy. To put it differently, the number of “likes” we get somehow equals our self – esteem. This is just ridiculous and not true in real life.

To conclude, the internet has brought to human both connections and disconnections with their real lives. Nonetheless, I believe people’s decisions on how to use the internet affect their lives greatly and they should educate themselves to be better internet users.