Some people say that it is possible for a country to be both economically successful and have a clean environment. Others disagree. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Problems related to whether or not economic growth and environmental protection can interrelate has long since been controversial topics. Some believe that a country can retain both economic prosperity and unpolluted environment, while others remain skeptical about this idea. This essay will discuss the merit, as well as, the shortcoming of both sides.

On the one hand, a rocketed growth of the economy, indeed, requires a number of sacrifice, which mainly consist of environmental pollution. To be specific, industrialization, the shortest way to acquire substantial economic growth, more often than not, can lead to hazardous consequence for our environment. Take the car industry for example, making cars requires a metal tempering process, from which numerous toxic substance as mercury and sulfur can be release into water, soil, and air, resulting in pollution. Another case in point is that beside polluting the environment, Industrialization often consume a terrific amount of natural resources that are limited. Recent research in the US have shown that in the 5 years period of industrialization between 1967 and 1972, The US has lost almost 5 percent of its oil and metal nature reserved source. What can be inferred from this is that great economic growth have to take responsibility for the destruction of countless environmental resources.

A constant increase in economical aspects, on the other hand, can co-exist with an unpolluted environment, provided that enough measurements were taken, as Countries which have developed usually are capable of protecting the environment without affecting its economic growth. For instance, strict laws and regulation are frequently announced to force most business to follow environmental standards. In addition, when reaching a certain level, companies can adopt more advanced technologies, reducing waste which, in turn, can result in a rise in those companies’ profit.

All in all, in my opinion, I agree with both idea, every action has its consequence : adopting a sky-rocketed economic growth could result in dire environment pollution, and, contrastively, choosing a constant growth may conclude in a clean and healthy environment.