: Some people say that it is possible for a country to be both economically successful and have a clean environment while others disagree with this. Discuss both views and give your opinion

Some people believe that a country can be able to successfully develop domestic economy and keep the environment clean at the same time whilst others have a contrast point of view. Personally, I assume the former is likely to be possible in multiple countries.

In the past decades, economic developments in many countries have coincided with environmental pollution. Industrialization which plays an important role in the national economic growth leads to various environmental problems. The blooming of industrial complex turns large green areas into blocks and factories. Some companies which only focus on profit and see no point in preserve the natural area would release gases and contaminants from factories directly into air, water and soil. As a result, the surroundings become severely damaged. Besides, industrial manufacture requires large amount of natural resource, leading to the overexploitation of fossil fuel. This fact afterward can worsen the current polluted environment.

However, solutions to manage both a successful economy and green environment are taken in many parts of the world. Nowadays, modern technology not only helps companies make more money but also can solve environmental problems. More and more environment-friendly machines such as electric cars and solar system which use alternative energy and release no harmful gas are invented. Therefore, the surroundings are rarely damaged. Moreover, governments can enact laws which encourage big companies to take their social responsibility that includes preserving local areas. Additionally, authority should raise people’ awareness of avoiding environmental pollution.

All in all, it is utterly possible for a country to both reach high economic growth and keep the area green when the government put enough concern on the domestic environment.