Some people say it is a waste of time when people plan for future. It is more important to focus on the present. Do you agree or disagree?

It is generally argued that organizing tasks for the fore-coming period is an inefficient utilization of time while the present should be seized. While I agree that present should be efficiently spent, future should be kept in view simultaneously.

Undoubtedly, making plans is a time-consuming task and one should enjoy the present situations to the fullest without worrying about the uncertain times ahead. Additionally, plans become futile in events of contingencies and the time spent on their preparation seems to be wasted. Moreover, by being focused in the current period, one can stay productive and derive the maximum benefit from the given circumstances. Unnecessary pondering over the future leads to skip the important events of the present which may result in undesirable outcomes. It is surveyed by health experts that people who remain anxious about future often suffer from depression.

However, one should not remain so engrossed in present that he forgets about the upcoming situations. Drafting a plan for future is a crucial task and has numerous advantages. Predominantly, by writing down the goals one remains highly motivated to accomplish the same. Along with that, people can have a clear vision of how to achieve their targets and hence remain enthusiastic. Further, plans can be edited according to the changing situations and work can be carried out efficiently. For instance, when a student falls sick, he can allot his leisure time for covering that pending work.

Conclusively, seizing the present is important, a combination of having thought about the near future and relishing the present would certainly lead to a delightful and successful life.