Some people say that living in a high-rise apartment block is a lonely experience because there is no community spirit. Others say that people who live in high-rise apartments have a much better sense of community than those who live in houses. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

People have different views about the lack of community spirit by living in a high-rise building as opposed to living in houses. While residing in private houses can offer a great sense of community, I believe that living in high-rise apartment makes people close to the community more.

On the one hand, it is said by a group of people that living in high-rise apartment blocks or buildings have a much better sense of community compared to that in private houses. People living in blocks of apartment may feel that they are involved in a community within the building. Residing in a great height, being isolated from the outside is not a pleasant experience at all. Therefore, those individuals who are in the top of the building usually connect with others, which indirectly raise the community spirit. It is reported that about 70 percent of people living in buildings are willing to help other dwellers. The creation of community is natural and unforced. In some apartments, annually, the people there have a general meeting in a restaurant, talking to each other about issues.

On the other hand, living in high-rise apartment blocks can be a lonely experience for some individuals, especially for the introverts who are considered reluctant to communicate with others. These introverts may find it difficult to contact with others. Also, it can be hard to construct a community spirit with the annoying people or the uncooperative individuals. Indeed, how much a person can integrate into the society depends on the whole society itself.

In a nutshell, I do believe that somehow living in high-rise apartment do create a mutual atmostphere and relationship between each individuals.