Some people say that the only reason for learning a foreign language is to travel to or work in a foreign country. Others say that these are not the only reasons why someone should learn a foreign language.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

It is believed that people learn another language only to travel or work abroad. While I agree that the knowledge of foreign languages may improve one’s career prospects, knowing the local language is not necessary for tourists. In my opinion, however, people today study other languages mainly for academic purposes.

Although speaking the local language can help tourists immerse themselves in the local culture, travelling to another country does not always mean one needs to have the language skills. For one thing, it might be a short trip, so holidaymakers do not always take language courses, not seriously anyway. The main reason, however, why tourists do not go to great lengths to master the language is that they can always hire a tour guide to help them explore this exotic culture they are about to enjoy.

The economic disparity between the countries has meant that people from developing countries sometimes emigrate in search of a better life. When they do start afresh in a new country, these migrant workers need to have a certain level of language competence if they want to stand a chance. Without the necessary level of communication, they may find themselves struggling in manual labor. Thus, I agree work can be one of the reasons why people sometimes learn another language.

While there can be many reasons, studying abroad, to me, is the main reason why people learn languages. Obtaining internationally recognized degrees is now considered one of the main academic goals students pursue. To qualify for such degrees, international students need to pass language tests, and so obviously, this is one of the main reasons why they take language learning more seriously, than even those who are seeking employment abroad.

Although seeking better job opportunities is one of the main reasons why we learn different languages, language learning is much more serious among those with academic goals.