Some people say that only reason for learning a foreign language is in order to travel to or work in in a foreign country. Others say that these are not the only reasons why someone should learn a foreign language.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

I strongly agree to the opinion that there are many motivations for a person to learn another language a part from two most common reasons which are to travel and to serve one's profession.

To begin, the world is now globalized and therefore it is essential to be able to speak different languages excluding a persons' mother tongue especially some widely spoken ones, for instance, English, French or Chinese. Being fluent in another language allows people to have better-paid jobs as it takes time and much effort to learn and use a language effectively so they should be accordingly rewarded. Moreover, since people income has risen, traveling for leisure activity is more common nowadays. Research has shown that people enjoy more when they blend well with native people when they are away on vacation. This means that they should more or less know the language of people in that place.

However, many people including me learn other languages because of different purposes. I found that it was easier to make friends in international youth exchange programs if I speak English more often. Not just this, learning another language helps me discover many thrilling features of other cultures and gain me a great deal of knowledge. As a result, it contributes to my academic achievements, I have better scores and gain more confidence in public speaking. Besides, learning a foreign language can be fun. People can read more books, watch more movies and listen to more music in different dialects.

In a nutshell, people can learn another language because of many reasons ranging from traveling, working, making friends experiencing new cultures and so on.