Some people say that playing computer games is bad for children in every way. Others say that playing computer games can have positive effects on the way children develop

Computers games have become part and parcel of children’s entertainment in this Post-PC era. This enormous popularity has recently led to two opposing views on the effects of playing computer games on children. Some people claim that computer games are detrimental to children’s health whereas others regard this hi-tech entertainment as a way to facilitate children’s overall development. In my opinion, only when computer games are applied to an educational context will they have positive effects on children.

On the one hand, an increasing number of parents are concerned about the negative influences of computer games, for they claim these games may endanger children’s physical health. The alarming trend in children’s obesity is a good illustration of how computer games adversely affect young children. With their leisure time mostly spent on playing thrilling games in front of computer screens and mobile phones, children lack sufficient physical activities, and this sedentary lifestyle inevitably results in burning fewer calories and gaining weight. Given the potential harms, some people think it necessary to keep children away from computer games.

On the other hand, other people assert that playing computer games helps enrich children’s social skills. For example, most games require teamwork, collaboration and communication. Players must support their fellow players and communicate efficiently to accomplish a challenging goal. Sometimes, a player may need to sacrifice himself for the final victory. Through these three processes, children may learn how to get along well with other people and realize the importance of being a part of something that is larger than themselves.

In my opinion, how we make use of computer games decides whether they are inimical to children's development. If they are only used for entertainment, they may definitely affect children’s physical and mental health to a considerable degree. Nevertheless, these hi-tech games can engage children in their school learning and maximize their academic achievements if applied to an educational context.

To recapitulate, computer games are becoming the main source of entertainment in this digital world. Despite the fact that people hold different perspectives on how children may be influenced by these games, I think the value of this entertainment lies in whether it is properly used to enhance children’s overall abilities.