All the people in a company should be treated equally and provided with the same numbers of vacations in a year To what extent do you agree or disagree

The issue of how to improve workplace environment has been a heatedly discussed topic in the recent years, and this has turned into a dilemma facing many. Some people claim that all members in a company should be treated equally and given the same days of annual leave while others do not agree. In my opinion, this idea is completely unacceptable despite some potential merits.

Undeniably, there are some benefits of treating everyone equally and making everyone have the same days of holiday. If this company uses this welfare to recruit people, there will definitely be many talents coming to apply for the job. For example, a company which has a great welfare policy is the first choice of many university graduates. However, the benefit mentioned above does not necessarily imply that this egalitarian concept is completely applicable to real situations.

In fact, this employee-friendly policy leads to management challenges and financial loss. For example, if everyone requests their vacation within the same time slot, this will bring about two problems. First, there will be no one to do the work assigned, and the unfinished jobs will increase colleagues’ workload. Second, the company might have difficulty seeking substitutes who are competent for the jobs, thus suffering financial loss.

In addition, unfairness is the result of giving all workers the equal days of holidays. Some lazy people will not work seriously because no matter how hard they work, they will get the same number of vacations, which will be very unfair to those diligent workers. On the contrary, if companies do not carry out this policy, they are reported to gain more benefits. For instance, a German company adopts a strategy in which how many days of holidays an employee can get depends on his or her contributions to their company. According to the local data analysis, the annual revenue of this company is 30% higher than that of the local companies. Apparently, its strategy motivates its employees to show more commitment to a certain extent.

In conclusion, both of the two views have their pros and cons, but still, I maintain that employees should not be given the same number of vacations, as its negative effects outweigh the rest.