Some people say that playing computer games is bad for children in every way Others say that playing computer games can have positive effects on the way children develop

In recent years, there has been considerable discussion about the negative impacts of computer games on children. This has led to a suggestion that children should be prohibited from indulging in this Internet-based entertainment. Personally speaking, I would disagree with this statement to a large extent for the following two reasons.

To begin with, playing computer games helps reduce children’s stress. For example, students in China are always deprived of their leisure time and childhood. Not only do they spend approximately more than 9 hours per day at school but they also need to grapple with various kinds of assignments and test papers. Moreover, they are forced to take after-school classes at cram schools or language institutes in the hope of improving their academic performances and getting an offer from one of the most prestigious high schools or universities in China. Due to this enormous pressure of schoolwork, children need some relaxation, and computer games offer them an easy way to relieve their stress.

In addition, computer games can cultivate some good qualities in children such as teamwork and communicative skills. For instance, computer games require the collaboration of two or more people to complete a game. Take the tank game as an example. Tanks are usually divided into four positions: a commander, driver, gunner, and loader. In order to get the ultimate victory in the competitive game, all of these four people need excellent cooperation and communicative skills to drive the tank to the final destination without being attacked by their rivals. If they could apply these spirits to their real life, they might be very likely to be successful in their schoolwork and future careers.

In conclusion, it seems that computer games are not completely harmful in every aspect and that it should be treated rationally. Despite the negative impacts of this innovative entertainment, computer games could help children relax and foster some important skills crucial to their life and future. Therefore, we should endeavor to reduce the negative impacts of computer games and maximize their positive influences.