Some people say that playing computer games is bad for children in every way. Others say that playing computer games can have positive effects on the way children develop

In recent years, there have been two opposing views on the impacts of computer games on children. While some claim that this hi-technological entertainment is harmful to children, others assert that it is beneficial to children’s development. In my opinion, the influences of computer games depend on whether people use them wisely.

On the one hand, some people are concerned about the negative influences of computer games because they will affect children’s academic performances and develop their extravagant lifestyle. For example, there has been some evidence that addiction to video games usually brings about low grades in children’s examinations and distraction in class. In addition to being a low academic achiever, children are likely to waste a great amount of money on purchasing more new games, which will give a lot of financial burden on parents. Because of these potential harms, some people consider it imperative to keep children from indulging in computer games.

On the other hand, others who are sanguine about the effects of computer games argue that this modern entertainment can facilitate children’s social and intellectual skills. For instance, most online games require teamwork, collaboration, and communication. Players have to support their fellows and establish a good communication network to attain their ultimate goals. Sometimes, a player may need to sacrifice himself or herself for the final victory. What is more, computer games are believed to help children with their problem-solving skills. Players have to make a strategic plan in advance to forestall any possible attacks from their enemies. Besides, they must have successful management of their resources to enhance their values in the virtual games.

In conclusion, people have different perspectives on how children may be affected by computer games. While some think of them as negative, others take a more liberal attitude towards this trend. Despite these conflicting ideas, I am convinced that the value of this digital entertainment lies in whether it is properly used to improve children’s overall abilities.