Some people say that teaching local history to school children is more important than teaching world history to them. Do you agree or disagree?

Learning about local or world history has different perspectives. In my perspective, local history is better for children than learning about world history.

Children can get interests and motivation to learn and study by learning about local history. By acknowledging the historical events around them, children can physically feel the connection between themselves and historical events. For example, when they learnt that their grandfather had fought for the city and which events are written in local areas, it can boost children towards to learning about local histories.

In contrast, world history is difficult to understand for majority of children. Since world history has many historical events, which occurred sequentially or concurrently, it can create confusion and difficulties for children. For example, World War ii initiated by German Nazis and at the same time, there was Japanese war in Asia. These two events are independent to each other and children may found difficulties to understand those events separately which can results in discouragement in studying in history.

Local history, therefore, is better than world history, because it can initiate children’s interest towards to study. It is important to draw children’s attention to study and history subjects before learning. Once children are interested, motivated and having full attentions towards to history, they can study for world history later on.

In conclusion, local history can be used as the trigger to study for world history. Since many children are more interested in their local events than worlds, the local history is better to learn than world history.