Some people say that web content should be used to instruct children. Others think that it is not helpful in an educational setting.

It is a common belief that the internet is unhelpful and even harmful in school environments. However, there is a more persuasive argument that children might be instructed by the diverse and intuitive information contained in web content through proper usage.

On the one hand, early internet exposure in young children may lead to potentially deviated conceptions and thinking. This is because there are many unreliable and toxic contents that are widely disseminated online, while children are too young to perceive problems objectively. For example, children today are more likely to use rude words and discourteous gestures, even when addressing their parents and teachers. They often learn those words and behavior from social media and other websites, where such language is popular.

However, if we teach children how to use web content correctly and responsibly, it can be a useful tool for learning and exploring the world. In fact, the internet is the fastest way to connect with a huge treasure trove of human knowledge, in which there is no shortage of visual examples of images and sounds representing the concepts taught to children in educational settings. And learning from such intuitive cases is always more accessible than from abstract theories. One clearly stated instance is that children tend to remember new vocabulary longer from videos and images instead of studying it in several books.

To sum up, while it is apparent that harmful information is still widely distributed in web content and might have a negative impact on children's conception, it is undeniable that the internet plays an important role as a good source for learning and visualizing knowledge at school if we help children utilize it selectively.