Some people say that you can learn more about another country by watching television programmes and films about it than by actually visiting it. How true is this statement? Is there anything you can learn about another country by visiting it that you cannot learn by watching programmes and films about it?

Give reasons for your answers and include any relevant examples from your own experience.

It was not a long time ago that people had to shoulder the burden of traveling in order to learn about other places in the world. With the invention of TV in the 20th century and accumulative advancements made in the cinema industry, the media have increasingly become the dominant means of spreading information. Hence, some people claim that in order to acquire knowledge about other nations it is more convenient to watch TV shows, movies and documentaries instead of paying a visit. Despite the mass flow of information by media, I think nothing beats the old-fashioned method of learning about other countries.

It is true that Tv programmes able to draw a colorful perspective of a nation and movie producers try to simulate the same experiences that could be gained during a visit to a country in their movies, but they solely made to serve to the purpose of entertainment. While they cover the boldest, the rarest and the most interesting parts of a country when it comes to the subtle matters they fail miserably. For instance, Turkish series, movies and TV shows spin around a high-class living standard, which during my visit some years ago came out to be true only for the top echelon people, I came to the conclusion that the exact opposite of what clouded TV programmes promote the majority of people live a minimalistic life.

In addition, traveling to a foreign country and experiencing by oneself is more fruitful than only watching it on the TV. by physically being involved not only travelers observe by their eyes and ears they also put to work the other three senses. for instance, no matter how scrupulously a movie actor or a TV correspondent tries to explain the taste of a food, how a flower smell or how the weather feels it will not the same as experiencing it themselves.

It could be said that by watching TV and movies people may be able to review some of the pages of a weighty tome of a nation but it is incomparable to the in-depth speculations could be done by traveling.