Some people spend a lot of money on tickets to go sporting or cultural events.Is this a good or bad thing?

Over the last few decades, by the virtue of industrialization and globalization, the standards of living have drastically improved and with better job opportunities people earnings exceeded their expenditures. With a lot of money in the banks, people found spending a huge amount of money on tickets of sporting or cultural events as a luxury.Whether this is good or bad development experts opinion are divided and disputable.In this essay, I will discuss the pros and cons of this habit.

To begin with, sporting and cultural events are fundamental to the growth of any modern society.Such gatherings help to connect people not only at domestic level but also at international level.Furthermore, spending money on games and cultural events are vitally important for their survival. By attending these events people are indirectly supporting the players and the artists who spend all their life and career.For example, Pakistan super league is one of the most expensive cricket leagues in the world and its survival is based on the earning from their lavish tickets.With the success of this league more and more junior athletes are introduced to the world of cricket.

Conversely, the money spends on the sports gala and cultural arenas can be used for the betterment of the underprivileged and improvement of infrastructure namely health and educational sectors.Donation to welfare societies and fundraising for the serious disease like cancer will help to change lives and sufferings of people.For instance, Shaukat Khanum Cancer hospital, a state of the art cancer hospital, in the world which provides exclusively free service to cancer patients is the result of peoples spendings and donations.

In conclusion, spending on the expensive tickets of sports or cultural events is neither good nor bad thing.I believe that its all depend on the will and intent of the people whether they use their money for popularity and progression of sports and culture or become a philanthropist.