Some people suggest that children do not understand the world of work and schools should make all teenagers spend a short-time working as well as studying academic subjects. To what extend do you agree?

Schools are designed to prepare children to adulthood. Nevertheless, an inevitable part of adult life tend to be work whose aspects are not taken into consideration in school programs. Many people assert that students should be involved in work in order to improve their understanding of the notion of labour. While there are many reasons to criticize this viewpoint, I entirely agree with it due to the benefits such as profit and experience.

One key advantage of involving school students in part-time jobs is that they can become breadwinning members of their families. This is because any work is rewarding and even though students’ salaries are seemingly a mere amount, they can contribute to the family budget and assist their families in collecting means to cover future university tuition fees and other personal expenses. It also may develop the character of the family breadwinner, which is essential in the adult lives of young people. Therefore, the habit of earning money, which can be gained at schools without disruption from studying, is crucial to make students conscious about value of money earned.

Furthermore, it is beneficial that those who performed small works at school make use of experience which they receive while working. This is due to the fact that experience at work can help them define what job they will opt and adaptation process to adult life will probably go more smoothly. By working in various spheres, for instance, students would presumably have a clear view of what kind of profession will suit their skills. Thus, students exposed to work at schools tend to be more prepared and precise about their future careers.

In conclusion, while some people argue that working part-time can possibly interrupt school students from their studies, I am certain that its benefits, such as obtaining a clearer understanding of money and future job, explicitly outweigh its drawbacks. I feel that students are to be given more freedom to make them more independent people in lives.