Some people think that all teenagers should be required to unpaid work in their free time to help the local community. They believe this would benefit both the individual teenager and society as a whole.

Do you agree or disagree?

It has been widely assumed that all students should be forced to do volunteer works in their spare time to help the local residents. Also, many believe that this would be beneficial for both sides. However, my idea is contrary to those ridiculous arguments.

My opinion invariably emanates from the fact that it is obvious that the pressure of the study account for a great deal of how teenagers spend their spare time. They are usually required to be attended at lectures and complete a colossal workload of assignments. If they were forced to do unpaid jobs, they would be prone to encounter stress and depression. When young people do have some leisure time, we should encourage them to enjoy it with their friends or to spend it doing sports and other leisure activities. They have many years of work ahead of them when they finish their studies.

As for the public good, I don't believe society has anything to gain from forcing young people to do unpaid work. In fact, it apparently goes against the idea of a constitution and human rights when a group of people is required to do volunteer work, especially that it may be against their will. Doing this can lead young people to feel that they are being taken advantage of, so they will not be able to work effectively.

I acknowledge with the argument that they learn the sense of cooperation and sharing with others in society if they work on a voluntary basis, but this practical knowledge can also be easily gained in Group work assignments at school when young people work together and discuss how to solve problems that are required.

Subsequently weighing all the mentioned, it can now be safely stated that teenagers may choose to work for free and help others, but in my opinion, we should not make this compulsory.