Some people think that all teenagers should be required to do unpaid work in their free time to help the local community. They believe this would benefit both the individual teenager and society as a whole.

Nowadays, some young people can be seen doing part-time volunteering jobs when they are free. Personally, I think it should be a must practice because it fosters positive results for both young people themselves and society as a whole.

On the one hand, participating in unpaid work for the local community can be advantageous for teenagers’ personal lives. Firstly, the young can interact with new people, expand their network and improve their communication skills. They may also get ready for real workforce as volunteering involves elements of professional work like regulating tasks, facilitating with co-workers, and managing the time. Since it is a win-win situation for all; teenagers get to learn new skills, residents promote union and neighborhoods have better facilities. The final reason for believing this is that universities and colleges today prioritize prospective students who have joined social clubs and volunteering groups.

By contrast, there are reasons why elders should not make social work compulsory for teenagers. Young students are already under enough pressure with their studies, so they have very limited time and energy for any extra effort. For example, teachers expect them to turn in homework every day, take tutorials and consolidate for exams in each academic year. Therefore, they should be set free to manage their own leisure time, maybe chatting with friends and doing stimulating hobbies. Finally, forcing a group of people what to do strictly cannot lead to a fair society and children will start feeling they are being used.

In conclusion, teenagers can broaden their horizons, learn new things, and also benefit the community by volunteering. Hence, I believe they should be motivated to perform it in their free time regularly.