Some people think that art is an essential subject for children at school while others think it is a waste of time. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

It is argued that art is regarded as an important subject and it should be taught to all students in school. In my opinion, studying art is great because it can improve creativity and children can express their feelings through drawings.

Art is not taught for the purpose of becoming an artist, but for upgrading their creative power. A variety of careers are based on drawing, such as engineering, carpentering, making sculptures and even inventions are based on art. As being familiar with art since childhood can support their future careers, it is necessary to teach this subject in schools.

Art is a way of expression. If a child is given a pencil and a sheet of paper, he or she will start drawing rather than writing. Since children doesn’t know much words, they describe their emotions via drawings. For example, pediatric psychologists study children by letting them draw what is in their mind, stating that it is more effective than question and answer section in order to realize their feelings. By this term, adults, especially teachers and parents, can know the children’s emotions and nurture them according to their needs.

As a conclusion, students should learn art as a compulsory subject in school for their creative mind. Moreover, they can spend their leisure time with art. Therefore, I think teaching art to children should not be considered as a mere extra-curriculum activity.