Some people think that because some children find some subjects such as mathematics and philosophy difficult, they ought to be optional instead compulsory. To what extend do you agree?

In the perspective of several people, instead of being mandatory, children want to be optional in few subjects like mathematics and philosophy due to the difficulties. I disagree with this statement because I believe that basic subjects at school should be learnt well by the students as they will need them in the future.

During the school days, pupils are studying many disciplines from basic such as mathematics and philosophy. Basic subjects are fundamental prior to learning about advanced theory. For example, mathematics is not only intended to someone who wants to learn about science in the college, but also learning about economics and business. Whenever children are avoiding the basic subject because of its difficulties, they won't have wide range of advanced theory. They will only know about what they like to study, resulting narrow understanding about other knowledge. On the other hand, children are not responsible enough towards their choice. They are the ones whom should be directed over their preferences.

On the other hand, being optional over subjects because of the difficulties makes the children become people who are not a good thinker and problem solver. From elementary school days, they are avoiding difficulties instead facing the problems. It means they do not learn how to solve problems and expanding their mindset. It also affects their daily life like whenever they face bad situation, they prefer to run rather than handle it.

In conclusion, children should be obligatory to school subjects instead optional as it is needed fundamental before learning more advanced discipline. In addition, learning subjects without considering the difficulties helps children to be problem solving people in the next days.