Some people think that the best way to increase road safety is to increase the minimum legal age for driving cars or riding motorbikes To what extent do you agree or disagree

Some people believe that increasing the minimum driving age is the most effective way to raise safety on the roads. I disagree with this idea because I think the best method is the one that can bring efficiency for a long time.

On the one hand, raising the driving age can ensure road traffic safety. First, according to real-life results, most traffic accidents happened because of a lack of care in driving. And most of these accidents were caused by young people. Because they are not mature enough to know how serious their actions lead to. Older people who have more life experience understand what they do and make wiser decisions in some dangerous situations. Second, increasing the minimum legal driving age can allow adolescents to have more time in practicing and improving their driving skills. They can attend defensive driving courses to have some tips on what to do in dangerous situations. After that, they can drive more carefully and the number of accidents will decrease.

On the other hand, I don’t support this method much. Because it has some effects in the short term and raises the driving age for a long time. There are still some old people driving unsafely after they’re drunk. How can we be sure that old people won’t commit driving offenses? Young people without driving licenses can still drive on the road. Who knows if they’re not old enough? For the longer term, I think the best way is to impose stricter punishments for driving. For example, people who cause serious offenses can be given a longer prison. Or a heavier fine for ones who commit misdemeanors. These punishments will make residents feel better when driving on the roads.

In short, the method that I suggest may have some disadvantages. But it’s better than the way of increasing the minimum driving age.