Some people think that the best way to reduce crime is to give longer prison sentences. Others, however, believe there are better alternative ways of reducing crime.

Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Today, there is sharp debate about what is the best way to deal with the ever increasing rate of crime. There is a school of thought that firmly believes that by increasing the imprisonment, the rate would definitely decrease. While others think that exist different methods to do so with greater effects. In my opinion, which is similar to the first statement, I think that by toughening the penalties, in terms of years, would be a feasible solution for this common issue.

On one hand, many think that criminal codes should be contained longer prison penalties as a way to deter people to commit crime. In other words, those who feel the temptation to break the law by committing any type of wrongful actions, would think twice to do so, since the ensuing punishment will mean not only spend months behind bars, but also could result in life imprisonment. In Spain, for instance, recently the criminal code was amended to introduce a new penalty for sexual crimes, passing from 10 years, as maximum, to life prison. All of this done, as a strategic to reduce the alarming rate of sexual assault within community.

On the other hand, others think that the best weapon, among others, to combat the crime is by educating the society about the social and moral values, and the respect each other, as citizen, deserve. Under this scenario, the criminality rates would be a minor issue. To do so, governments -local, regional, and national- should allocate more public fund to schools, college and universities, paying special attention to those locates in deprived areas. This wise technique is being applied for years in Germany, with positive results.

In conclusion, although it is true that the more educated a society is, the less crime would be committed, it is also painfully true that tough and lengthy jail sentences is the most effective vehicle to fights against the social phenomenon of criminality.