Some people think that big international sporting events are not worthwhile for the host country. Do you agree or disagree?

Large scale global sporting games are the proud representation of developed countries. Whether merits from these games are worthy for the efforts of the host countries is a question that requires careful consideration. As far as I’m concerned, I hold the view that sporting events cannot make an adequate return for countries of venue.

On the one hand, extensive sport competitions bring about an ineffectual profit. To hold an global sporting event, the government need to fund cutting-edge amenities with a huge amount of money. However, gains from tourism, sporting tickets and others do not make up for the loss. For instance, Qatar spent about 229 billion USD for World Cup whereas this country only received about 17 billion USD which was less than 13 times the funding. Hence, money spent for these similar events can leads to the significant shortfall in the nation budget and businesses which are sponsors. Contribution of international sport to local economy is undesirable for most countries.

On the other hand, sporting events are the culprit of abandoned buildings. After massive events, almost up to date stadiums and amenities are no longer used or employed few times only, which causes a noticeable waste. To illustrate, after world cup 2014, Amazon Arena, a stadium with large capacity in Brazil, are neglected completely because of ít remote location despite 300 million usd invested in it. Clearly, in stead of spending money for these sporting constructions, government should pour aid into projects serving essential demands of residents.

In conclusion, countries should not expend so much money on international sporting games to avoid lavishness and attach special importance on living condition of inhabitant.