Some people think that children should be homeschooled when they are very young, while others think it is better for them to attend a school.

Which do you think is better?

As the future of countries is reflected through the quality of the present education system, the debate/discourse surrounding the merits of homeschooling versus traditional schooling has been going on. While some advocate for the former, others believe conventional school is the better option. I believe enrolling in school in a more favourable choice, which shall be scrutinized/evaluated in this essay.

Admittedly, homeschooling can be beneficial in terms of physical and social development. This educational option can provide an environment where parents can understand their children’s habits, interests and personalities to customise routines, which can lead to the optimal development of size and height, as well as a healthy regimen of exercise and diet. Additionally, parents can instil positive behaviours by being good role models and practising routines and disciplines. However, homeschooling has limitations, including providing only a restricted outlet and the possibility of unilateral decision-making by parents.

On the other hand/In contrast, schools provide an unrestricted outlet for children to play and interact with classmates, which help channel their boundless energy and augment gross motor skills, such as running, rolling, and jumping. Art and crafts in schools’ curriculum also offer opportunities for them to focus their burst of energy into more productive activities and refine their fine motor skills. Furthermore, schools is the socialising avenue that homeschooling cannot replicate, wherein interactions with peers and teachers from diverse backgrounds can be promoted. Such practices expose young impressionable minds to different cultures, values, and ideas, broadening their perspectives and allowing them to face new challenging situations while relying on themselves alone; as a result, social essential skills such as empathy and compassion can be developed.

In conclusion, while homeschooling has some advantages in the physical and social domains, schools provide a more comprehensive education and social setting that can gear up future citizens. Therefore, sending children to school is the better option for their overall development.