Some people think competitive sport is important for a child's education. Others think it has negative effects on children. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Write at least 250 words.

A group of people sometimes argue that competitive sport could play a vital role in a child's education however others hold that it could negatively affect a child .While I agree that rivalry sports is essential in schools I also think it could demoralize a child who isn't talented in sports.

First and Foremost, contestable sports is important as a part of education owing to the fact that it not only teaches kids to work hard towards achieving their goals so as to stand out,it also motivates others to work even harder to achieve what their opponents have achieved .To illustrate,back in high school we used to have intergroup sports competitions all the time .The group that won would feel really good about it. This in turn translated to class work where the competition was transferred to sort of prove a point .This made us work hard in class. Thus a little sports rivalry can be quite healthy hence my support of its vitality in a child's education.

On the other hand,This kind of rivalry could potentially have detrimental effects to the kids.This is because in case of a child with generally low self esteem,they could get so demoralised that they probably won't want to participate in other activities. For instance, in games, you will usually find a child that isn't doing so well in sports isolated and even afraid to partake other activities in school for fear of stigmatization .Thus my opinion about the potential negative impact of sports competitions.

To sum up,even though sports competition is vital for motivation,it could also have the opposite effect on other kids.