Culture reservation has been a concern of every community in our temporary society. While some people consider tourism as a powerful solution to combat culture degradation, others seek for alternative resources as they believe tourism development could be harmful to a society's tradition. I myself hold the opinion that tourism could be an effective way for cultural promotion, however, other measures should be taken in order to battle the loss of traditional values.

On the one hand, those who are in favor of the non-smoke industry have their reasonable justification to support tourism when it comes to culture reservation. The first merit point of attracting global attention to one culture would be the promotion of cultural appreciation as well as a funding tool for the preservation of that culture. For example, Hoi An, a UNESCO heritage site, has been receiving huge international funding and global attention for its annual traditional festival thanks to tourism development. Furthermore, the pride generated through seeing one's traditional beauty praised by others would be a contributing factor to enriching and maintaining those traditions. There is no better way to protect a tradition than making that tradition being valued by the own members of the community.

On the other hand, the opponents of tourism-driven trajectory have valid arguments to protest this trend. Firstly, there is no doubt that as a part of the opening one community to foreign visitors, the loss of traditional identities entailed by the process of integration and assimilation could be inevitable. In fact, some people might even abandon their inherited tradition due to their provincialism as well as fetishistic devotion to other cultures. Secondly, constant exposure to foreign factors and the money-making world would lead individuals who are considered as the guardians of one tradition to altering the essence of the tradition in order to make it more lucrative. Consequently, other action should be taken with the involvement of not only the authorities but also every member of the society in order to maintain the traditional value and culture.

In conclusion, Though sustainable tourism might be beneficial for preserving traditions, depending on this sector solely would drive to the eradication or extinction of certain custom and ritual. Admittedly, there should be endeavor of every party involved in order to protect those long-standing conventions