Some people think employers should not be concerned about their employees' way of dress but only the quality of their work. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

People have differing views with regard to the question of whether employers should care about their employee’s dressing. In my view, this issue really depends on different situations and we need to consider it case by case.

On the one hand, I deem that employees should wear clothes that match the company’s culture. For example, if the culture of the company is relaxing and technology-oriented, the employers have no call for strict roles on what the employees should wear. They can be seriously dressed or casually dressed, as long as they keep their work skilled. It’s simply because what they wear doesn’t have any real impact on their company. However, in terms of other kind of companies, this can be totally different. For instance, if it’s a law firm or fashion-oriented company, then it will be of great necessary for employers to require their subordinates dress rigorously, which, to some extent, may have a great impact on their company's image.

On the other hand, I think caring about what subordinates wear should depend on where you go. It is undeniable when we consider the fact that there are plenty of situations in the work place. If attending a meeting, dressing formally will show a kind of respect, which is not uncommon for employers to concern about. On the contrary, if in the leisure area, It is acceptable for employees to wear casually.

In conclusion, I concede that it’s not always necessary for employers to urge what clothes their employees are wearing unless their dressing can make a difference for the company.