Some people think that environmental problems are too big for individuals to solve, while others think that the government cannot solve these environmental problems unless individuals make some action.

Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In today's modern world, environmental crisis has become a major concern, resulting in several debates on who is responsible to solve them. A part of the population believes that individual action is not enough, while others claim that without it government will not be able to deal with them. This essay will discuss both views and will also state why I strongly believe that government has an indispensable role in such matters.

To begin, the vast majority of the population consider small action to prevent environmental disasters, as useless. However, these minor things can actually prevent detrimental consequences. For example, throwing used batteries into general waste bins and not in certain bins could become very dangerous for the environment due to the fluids that bataries produce when they melt and when these fluids may be absorbed by the ground. Thus, a few seconds to decide where should we dispose several items can prevent ecological disasters.

While some people think that government cannot control environmental problems without its citizen's effort, I believe that it should have the first word in these circumstances. Each goverment and the parliament must not rely on peoples will to contribute to public issues, but they have to introduce new laws and strong penalty fees to those who do not follow them. For instance, each house should have different colored bins for recyclable, non-recyclable and general waste and if constantly some people do not use them appropriately, then the should be penalized. The beginning and the end for every country is its government.

To sum up, an effort done by individuals regarding environmental problems is admirable, however without governments strict action, the environmental chaos that we live will become bigger and bigger day by day.