Some people think the government funding should not be used for supporting art and culture, others think supporting cultural activities may be beneficial for the population and the culture. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In today's modern world, money and basically the absence of it, has become a major concern resulting in several debates on where should it be spent. Thus, a part of the population believes that art and cultural activities should not be funded by the government, whereas others that any kind of support to arts could have several benefits for the nationals and the culture of the country. This essay will discuss both views and will also state why I strongly believe that the vast majority of governments money should be spent on more important matters.

To begin, it is evident that nowadays each different country faces numerous problems related to the environment, the educational system and even with their territorial integrity. Thus it can be considered as pointless to invest money on art, while there are many other more important actual problems. For example, in Greece, a country with several issues with neighbor countries, uses approximately 60% of the annual amount of taxes to defend its border. From my perspective, every country should prioritize its needs and that is why some people claim that art is not the right way.

On the other hand, any kind of art(music, painting, sculpturing) has several benefits on humans. Through it, people are able to express themselves and create pieces of art and of course, after many decades these can be used as historical stamps. However, personally, I do not believe that these very crucial effects of art might affect the population, due to the fact that most of the people do not care about art.

To conclude, each government has to spend its citizens' money wisely and unfortunately until the day in which people will admire art again and the benefits that it has on us, all the money spend on art will be wasted.