Some people think that government should invest money to study life on other planets While others say that it is waste spending money on such things when the earth itself has lots of problems To what extend do you agree or disagree

Every year many opulent nations across the globe spend billions of dollars on searching extra-terrestrial life. Many people chime with the idea that the governments should invest extravagantly to learn life on the planet. This provokes ire of conservatives who deem that it is completely wastage of money and this budget can be allocated to solve the dire problems on earth. In this stance, I do not believe that there is one-size fits all answers.

It goes without saying that there are enormous pressing issues like food crisis, climate change, poverty etc. around the world which need substantial attention. Each day hundreds of children die from hunger and malnutrition. A recent study shows that an African child dies of hunger in every thirty seconds. Similarly, climate change leads us to a fatal condition day by day. Climate change results in global warming, drought, sea level increase, and so on. In addition to this, we have to combat against AIDS which is largely considered as a disease of poverty. Therefore, affluent countries ought to make budget to eradicate these grave issues.

Having said that, however, many a people oppose the former argument. They claim that searching extra-terrestrial life could bring boon to mankind. Searching for life on the other planets could be the way of answering mysterious issues about ourselves. Where did human being come from? Why is human being here? Moreover, if we find any life in the other parts of the universe, we then may learn from them many things and may be find the way out of our current pressing problems like, climate change, overpopulation, and so forth. There are also advantages that may be cannot predict ahead of time.

All in all, although we have to have priority in our grim problems on earth, research on searching for extra-terrestrial life should be carried out and got sufficient budget. This could bring us enormous benefits in future which may be beyond our imagination now.