Some people think that the government should knock down old buildings and make way for new buildings.

Do you agree or disagree?

Owing to fascinating developments in the field of construction, there at times is visible a huge disparity in buildings that are old and new. Hence, some people come up with an argument that the government should knock down old buildings to allow the construction of new ones. The idea does seem modern yet upon deeper thought is not feasible and I disagree with it.

Knowing down all the buildings and construction new ones at a given time is not at all possible at any place whatsoever. The old coexists with the new. A building is usually designed to last a hundred years and to tear it down when all it needs is a little maintenance is a waste of precious money that can be used for all other kinds of infrastructure development. Also, some parts of cities are heritage location preservation which is mandatory for us if we wish to take pride in our culture and tradition. They are walk-in museums of a life gone past, the beauty and complexity of which is there for us to appreciate and learn from.

Further, it is not always possible to predict that the current designs of buildings will pass the test of time and remain equally acceptable and effcient in future. All is all, a small proportion of old buildings may be risky or may not be 'fit' for today's life style in terms of comfort and can be therefore razed to the ground.

There is no doubt that at times old structures need a lot more maintenance than the comfort they provide for us or with the growth of the city come to be on a location which makes circulation of traffic difficult. In this case, the old certainty should make place for the new so that space can be better utilized and we can save the human and material resources that need to be spent on endless maintenance tasks.

Conclusively, to simply knock down old buildings and build new ones is not a good idea according to me. I think it is a mockery of the concept of development.