Some people think that the government should provide free public libraries in every town while others think think this is a waste of money because people can get access to information on the Internet Discuss both views and give your own opinion

There is an irrefutable fact that the construction of city infrastructures, particularly public libraries has become a topic of interest. While many city dwellers hold the view that these libraries should be established more for serving residents, others reckon that it is an imprudent policy due to the technological breakthrough. In this essay, both viewpoints will be discussed and my favour of the latter.

The most convincing reason why local official states should invest in free libraries for bookaholics is its contribution to developing the city in various fields. This is because when residents are free to access an enormous amount of books in different types, they are facilitated to acquire a huge amount of practical and precious knowledge playing an integral role in their personal needs as well as city growth. Therefore, these book lovers will become a determinant in the backbone of city sustainable development. For example, business or commercial books are an important source of practical knowledge related to economy that are useful for economic students who will become potential entrepreneurs for their living hometowns.

However, it is my belief that the local coffers should be spent on other fields instead of public libraries due to two following reasons. The most notable one is the popularity of personal digital devices. In fact, at least each citizen in the cities have their own digital devices which are portable and effortlessly access to the Internet with an affordable price. Therefore, people can read digital books without charge via various virtual platforms such as Wattpad or BookBub instead of struggling to visit the conventional libraries in order to find their favourite paper books. Another reason is the necessity of spending local coffers in reckoning other domestic problems. This means instead of constructing public libraries in earnest, it is a worthwhile investment when domestic governments allot the local coffers in policies and campaigns that are indispensable to a sustainable development of their cities. For example, the local official states should mobilise sponsors and ordinary citizens to take part in a long- lasting campaign that contributes to pushing for a greener future by raising awareness about single used items, collecting garbage and planting trees. Moreover, tax revenue should be prudently spent on improving traffic infrastructures and facilitating underprivileged children to free educational policies to improve citizen’s living quality.

In conclusion, while many advocates are inclined to the fact that the local development is attributable to the ubiquity of free libraries, I am convinced that this is an imprudent policy due to its practical fields and effectiveness.