Some people think that governments should ban dangerous sports, while others think people should have freedom to do any sports or activity. Discuss both views and give your own opinion?

Extreme sports have raised a question of whether they should be prohibited or not. While a larger number of people are of the idea of imposing a ban on such sport, it seems to me that providing citizens with freedom to opt for sport is more beneficial.

On the one hand, people against dangerous sports justify that they should be banned due to the negative impacts they exert on the economy and health. Firstly, such expenses on organizing and partaking in extreme sports are exorbitant, yet rarely do they reflect the Olympic ideal nor have been approved to be played at major sports events. Thus, eliminating games which are not beneficial, and even detrimental to the economy, could be deemed as a reasonable policy. Moreover, such sports as bungee jumping or kayaking require a high level of strength, making players exert themselves and, therefore, having a high probability of injury. Hence, given an official ban on them, it would be an effective solution to preventing citizens from venturing their physical health on risky pastime.

On the other hand, I believe that extreme sports should be treated equally as other sports. Indeed, people playing dangerous sports are required to have a sufficient amount of knowledge of the sports as well as precaution such as equipping themselves with essential sport gears. Such measures, which prevent players from life-threatening conditions, make the policy of banning extreme sports on safety grounds unconvincing. Additionally, it is reasoned that in case of injuries, the players themselves, not the authority, are held accountable for their recovery. Therefore, if extreme sports are outlawed, it could be seen as a personal freedom infringement, rather than a strategy to protect citizens’ health.

Briefly, I concur with the view that people should be free to participate in dangerous sports, provided that they abide by the safety rules.