Some people think that governments should do more to make their citizens eat a healthy diet. Others, however, believe that individuals must take responsibility for their own diet and health. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

It is appreciated that individuals should be in charge of their personal physical state and diet; meanwhile, others believe that it is up to the authorities. Both these schools of thought hold valid arguments. This essay will take both sides into consideration and give my verdict.

On the one hand, governments should take action to promote a healthier diet for several reasons. Initially, as citizens are the main workforce of domestic factories and corporations, they are the decisive factor of the national economic development. Moreover, their well-being, which is a great contributor to the prosperity of their home country, can be ensured by having the authorities regulate people’s consumption of foods. For example, Quebec's law in Canada passed in 1980 to restrict junk food marketing in the locality has led to a 13-percent decrease in fast food expenditures and has maintained the lowest child obesity rate among the cities in this nation.

On the other hand, I hold a strong belief that individuals should take responsibility for their health and diet. This is derived from the fact that everyone is different. While some people are more prone to putting on weight and have a genetic predisposition to certain diseases, food is less impactful on others. Therefore, a formalized healthy diet suggested by the government will not be suitable for everyone and people need to take a lead for their food consumption as well as their physical state. Besides, the financial ability of each person also plays an important role in their food choice. For instance, the underprivileged do not have the ability to afford balanced diets due to lacking money.

In conclusion, as for the aforementioned explanations, although governments should shoulder the responsibility for taking care of citizens’ food consumption, my verdict is that individuals must be more accountable for their diet and health.