Some people think that governments should give financial support to creative artists such as painters and musicians. Others believe that creative artists should be funded by alternative sources. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

People have different views about the backing of creative artists. While some people disagree with the idea of government support for artists, I believe that money for art projects should come from both governments and other sources.

Supporters of government funding for artists hold the view that it is valuable for the cultural preservation. This is because artworks are always tightly bound to a nation’s history, belief, culture and ethos. Subsidizing these artists and encouraging them to create freely without considering money will therefore have important implications to a country’s cultural diversity. China, for example, is known for its colorful cultural heritage like the Peking Opera which is not as appealing as they were centuries ago. Without the government investment, these art forms together with the culture lying behind may suffer a risk of loss due to the lack of instant economic benefit.

Nevertheless, the argument against government backing for art is that governments have more important concerns. It is worth emphasizing that the artistic creation is time-consuming and a little costly. If the government keeps pumping money into this domain, then there is not enough money available for other essential services, such as education, healthcare, infrastructure and security, the basic needs of a country’s residents. However, the works of creative artists is a luxury.

In conclusion, if artists are supported exclusively by the government, then there is a possibility that the creations of artists will be influenced and even controlled by the preference of authority. However, government help is sometimes necessary. Without the generous support of House of Medici, the banker in Italy, how could there be the flourishing Renaissance therewith. Therefore, the backing for artists should not only count on the government but also on other sources like entrepreneurs.