It is generally acknowledged that families now are not as close as they used to be. What are some possible reasons for this and what can be done to reserve the trend?

Nowadays, family members are not as close as they were before. At the same time, however, there is some uncertainty as to the causes of the problem, and how it might be resolved. In this essay, I will examine the issue and seek some possible solutions.

To begin with, in regard to causes, it is undeniable that better job opportunities in big cities lead to the fact that young generation would rather live alone than live with their parents, which alienates the family members from each other. For instance, in many rural areas in China, old people are ill in bed but their children that work in big cities are too far to take care of them. In addition, different education background makes it hard for family members to understand each other as people of different ages may tend to have totally different opinions towards the same thing. To be specific, old people usually hold traditional thinking which is taught when they were young but the young tend to be more open-minded and more vulnerable to novel things.

On the other hand, as to solution, the government should invest abundant fund to improve the job market in the countryside where the economic development is comparatively slow. In this way, the young generations from these areas could land good jobs, living with their parents. Furthermore, the government ought to encourage the schools to introduce more knowledge about old tradition to the students, so that the students could have more common topics with their parents and they can understand each other better.

To summarise, there is no doubt that better working environment in huge cities and different learning background would make people far away from their families. At the same time, however, to address this issue the government should carry out policies to help rural countryside increase job opportunities and encourage schools to open more courses about tradition.