Some people think that the increasing use of computers and mobile phones for communication has negative effect on young people’s reading and writing skills. Do you agree or disagree?

In the context of modern society, permitting for youngsters to use the computer has gained the public’s popularity. While some hold an opinion that this tendency harms children’s literacy, I partly disagree with this statement via the reasons given.

On one hand, there are several reasons why using electronic devices frequently is likely to affect pupils’ literacy skills. One of them is a decrease in thinking ability and creating a dependency on the Internet because the availability of information or answers on the Internet satisfying any requirement immediately has allowed them to put fewer resources to solve their problems. Moreover, one of the key factors in essay or writing skills comes from the capability of analyzing and finding suitable methods for every issue. As an example of this is Chat GPT, a website with a reservoir of knowledge from AI, every aspect from the academy to daily life can be answered properly. As a result, they can be astonished at unexpected situations.

On the other hand, the younger can be beneficial from these devices by taking advantage of their convenience. First, these create a space for young people to access easily sources of knowledge, especially learners studying other languages. Whereas studying passively with assignments from tutors, they are in search of extra practice on the Internet to improve four essential skills including listening, speaking, writing, and reading. For instance, IELTS students are able to read and distill sentence structure which probably increases their band score through numerous available essays. Additionally, computers and smartphones provide youngsters with online news, acting as a supporter for their reading skills, because of the supply of jargon relating to scientific topics.

In conclusion, although smart devices trigger negative effects on reading and writing skills, these also help them find other ways to boost their literacy ability.