Some people think that the increasing use of computers and mobile phones for communication has had a negative effect on young people's reading and writing skills.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

it is argued by some people that there has been a negative impact on reading and writing skills of young people brought by modern ways of communication via the internet. I completely agree with this opinion.

On the one hand, the increasing use of electronic devices negatively contributes to poor reading skills of young people. When teenagers are chatting with friends or family members on the social media, it is highly likely for them to receive some short text messages, meaning that young people who spend many hours using computers and mobile phones lack enough opportunities to improve their ability of analysing the structure of a passage. Another disadvantage of communicating through social media is that there is no need for children to guess the meaning of a new word, as they can look it up easily by using Google or a dictionary app on their mobile phones.

The performance in terms of commanding a language will be also undermined by the communication through daily use of these devices. With regard to finishing an arranged assignment, it is increasingly difficult for a teenager to choose the most suitable phrase due to their daily reliance on some abbreviations, such as LOL and OMG. As for the latter, most social applications on mobile phones and computers are able to instantly correct the misspelling of the internet users, which means that writing an essay by hand could be a more challenging task for young people in schools.

In conclusion, while convenience brought by social media are obvious, there is no benefits to improving skills of reading and writing.