Some people think that the increasing use of computers and mobile phones has had a negative effect on young people’s reading and writing skills. To what extent do you agree or
disagree with this?
Some people think that by being highly dependent on digital devices, young people are losing
their reading and writing skills. I beg to differ! In my opinion, people get to read and write more
by using these devices and “practice makes perfect!”
The digital world has made people to become more interconnected. Within minutes, one is able
to send a handful of messages. This encourages people to write more to avoid wasting time on
phone calls or face-to-face meetings. In fact, the diverse types of writing that we make can
improve different aspects of our writing. For example, when we text our friends, we use informal
language such as using contractions. However, we use a more formal tone when messaging our manager.
Similarly, digitized data enhance our reading skills. Day in and day out, we are bombarded by
multitude of information in text form. Thanks to social media, people would share anything
interesting with everyone they know, and it would cost them almost nothing. Hence, most people
prefer to read their cluttered in boxes or social media messages during any waiting time such as
commuting or standing in a queue. Although they may not realize it, this time is actually being
invested by strengthening many soft skills such as reading.
In short, contrary to the belief that interacting through screens harms our literary skills, I believe