Some people think that individuals and companies rather than the government should pay for cleaning up the pollution that they have produced. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

The first point worth mentioning is that charging the corporations for waste-cleaning up will make them fully aware of the negative consequences of pollution. Therefore, they can develop a way to enhance the standard of their equipment as well as cutting down on industrial waste from the production process such as packaging, testing, etc. The policy implemented by the Holland government in 2016 could be a great example that said that every companies and individuals must be responsible for the cleaning fees of the pollution that they made. This measure had led to a reduction in the amount of household and industrial waste.

Another significant point is that this can also ease the pressure on the government's budget. As a result, the authorities will be able to invest significant funds in other areas like education, health care, or scientific research, which would benefit society as a whole. According to a survey made by Princeton University, the living standard of Japanese people had witnessed an increase when this country's government decided not to spend money on cleaning up the pollution caused by corporations.